Recommended Great Tourist Attractions in Ireland

Newgrange, County Meath
Newgrange burial chamber is located in the picturesque Boyne Valley straddles the County Louth and Meath. Newgrange is recognized by the magic of the winter solstice, because during this time the sun turns the central burial chamber. Newgrange is one of the most famous megalithic chamber worldThe has been restored and now you can enter it, organize tours of Bru na Bionne Visitor Center. Newgrange is more than 5000 years old and therefore is older than the pyramids of Egypt. At the entrance is a stone carved with a variety of fine Celtic spirals and designs. The mound is about 80 meters in diameter and the stones used for construction are of the Cooley Mountains in County Louth and Wicklow Mountains in County Wicklow.

Book of Kells, Dublin City
The world famous book of Kells is in Trinity College Dublin and goes back to the ninth century. A copy is incredibly delicious and richly decorated in the first four Gospels in Latin. Even after all this time, the greatness and aura of this historic book has not diminished and is considered one of the major tourist attractions. The book is in a permanent exhibit at the Library of Trinity College and evokes such passion among all who witness this historic spectacle. It is the main tourist attraction in Dublin - a must see!

Hill of Tara, County Meath
The Hill of Tara, ("Cerro de los Reyes"), located near the River Boyne in County Meath, is an archaeological complex that runs between Navan and Dunshauglin. It contains several ancient monuments, and, according to tradition, was the seat of the Ard Ri na hÉireann, or the Kings. The importance of that can not be underestimated in the context of pre-historic island. The Hill of Tara is today the ruins of the royal treasury, and the circular mound formations. There is a statue of St. Patrick on the Hill of Tara, plus an unusual shaped stone called Lia Fail or Stone of Destiny. Legend has it that when the true king of Ireland touched the stone screamed.

Trinity College, Dublin
Trinidad is located in central Dublin, College Green opposite the Houses of Parliament Old Irish, now the Construction Bank of Ireland. The campus occupies 190,000 m 2 (47 acres), much of the green area in the heart of the city, with many buildings, both old and new, ranged around large courts (known as "squares") and two playing fields . The Library of Trinity College is a copyright library for Ireland and the UK, containing over 4.5 million books and significant quantities of maps, manuscripts and music.

St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin
Located in the heart of old Dublin, St. Patrick's Cathedral is the largest church in Ireland, and was founded beside a sacred well where it is said that SanPatrick baptized converts around 450A.D. A stone slab with a Celtic cross and covering the well was no land at the turn of the 20th century. Which is currently in the west end of the nave of the cathedral. The original building was a wooden chapel and remained so until 1192 when Archbishop John Comyn rebuilt the cathedral in stone. Much of the current building dates back to 1254 and work from 1270. The cathedral is actually a Protestant church against popular belief.

Christchurch Cathedral, Dublin City
The cathedral was begun in 1038 by King Sitric Silkenbeard, the Danish Viking king of Dublin, by the first bishop of Dublin, Donat or Donagh (the diocese of Dublin, was at that time a small island surrounded by a huge Diocese of Glendalough, and responded in Canterbury). The church was built on the high ground overlooking the Viking settlement of Wood Quay and Sitric supposedly gave the lands of Baldoyle, Raheny and Portrane for its maintenance.

Custom House, Dublin
The Custom House is a 18th century neoclassical building in Dublin, where the Department of Environment. Located on the north bank of the River Liffey in Custom House Quay between Butt Bridge and Talbot Memorial Bridge. It was designed by James Gandon to act as the new custom house for Dublin Port and was its first large-scale commission. When it was finished and opened on November 7, 1791, which costs £ 200,000 to build a large sum at that time. The four facades of the building are decorated with coats of arms and ornamental sculptures representing the rivers of Ireland.

Dublin Castle, Dublin
Dublin Castle, Dame Street in front, was until 1922 the fortified seat of British rule in Ireland, and is now a main government compound housing the headquarters of the Irish Revenue Commissioners of Ireland. Most 18 century, though a castle has been in place since the days of King John, the first Lord of Ireland. The State Apartments dominate the range south of the great courtyard. They were built as residential neighborhoods and public of the viceregal court. They were the seat of executive power and the focus of social life and extravagant fashion. A life story of the viceregal court is given in Chapter 15 of the History of Dublin Castle. Today, the apartments are the place of Ireland European Union presidencies, presidential inaugurations and prestigious functions.

Monasterboice High Cross and Round Tower, County Louth
The historic ruins of Monasterboice (Mainistir Bhuithe) are of an early Christian settlement four miles north of Drogheda in County Louth.
Founded in the late fifth century by St. Buiter, who died around AD 521 and was an important center of religion and learning until founding of nearby Mellifont Abbey in 1142.
The site has two churches built in the 14th century or later and a tower at the beginning of the year but is most famous for its 10th century high crosses. The round tower is 35 meters high and is in very good condition, although one can not enter.
Believed to have been built as a refuge for the monks against the Vikings, although this theory has been much discussed.
The passage of time has laid the earth's layers so now the door is almost level with the ground. The monastery was burned in 1079.
Grand Cross of the Muiredeach of 5.5 meters is considered the best cross high in the whole of Ireland.

Clonmacnois, County Offaly
Clonmacnoise monastic settlement is the largest in Ireland.
It is located in County Offaly, south of the River Shannon, Athlone.
He was visited by the Pope in 1979. The site can be visited for a fee, through a Centre.
The modern village of Clonmacnoise is beside the monastery on the R444, 7 km north of Shannonbridge, County Offaly.
Clonmacnoise was founded in 545 by St. Ciaran in the territory of Ui Maine at the point where the main east-west of the land was through the swamps of central Ireland.
San Ciarn had been educated by St. Finnian of Clonard and also the abbot of St. Enda of Aran.
Shortly after his arrival, with eight companions, met Diarmait Mac Cerbaill Ciarn who helped build the first church in a small wooden structure and the first of many small churches are grouped on the site.
Diarmuid was to claim the title of the first Christian king of Ireland.

Durrow Abbey, County Offaly
Durrow Abbey and Cruz Alta is a historic site located in front of about 8 km from the town of Tullamore in County Offaly. One of the most important monastic sites in Ireland.
Today, the site remains largely undisturbed one historic medieval monastic site containing a complex of archaeological monuments, ecclesiastical and secular, visible and sub-surface.
It also includes a speck built by Hugh de Lacy in the early 1180 and left here he was assassinated in 1186 by an Irishman.
It was in the monastery of Durrow that the ancient Book of Durrow was compiled. Discovered in the hands of a local farmer, the book is believed that the first surviving fully decorated insular Gospel manuscript. Are believed to date from the seventh century, although this is controversial. It is on par with the Book of Kells for its glorious detail a colorful script.

Rock of Cashel, County Tipperary
The Rock of Cashel is one of the most spectacular of Ireland.
Here is a spectacular group of Medieval buildings set in a limestone crops in Oro Valley, which includes a round tower, high crosses, churches, a ruined abbey and 12th century Romanesque chapel of St. Cormac .
One of Ireland's most famous landmarks, the Rock of Cashel, also known as Cashel of the Kings and St. Patrick's Rock, is a historic site in the city of Cashel, County Tipperary. Cashel has a very ancient history, but only documented since the fourth century.
The Rock of Cashel, with its well preserved ecclesiastical remains, is one of the sites of Ireland's most spectacular heritage, above the surrounding plain and dominating the land route to the south.
The Rock of Cashel served as the traditional seat of the kings of Munster for several hundred years before the Norman invasion, though few remnants if any of the early structures survive.

Navan Fort, County Armagh
Two miles west of the city of Armagh is the great mound of Navan Fort, stronghold of the kings of Ulster from 700 BC. It occupies a key place in Heroic Age legend, especially in the tales of Cuchulain. Whenever the King Conor had a problem with Queen Maeve, the fierce ruler of Connaught, Cuchulain came to the rescue. The story is told in the visitor center. In addition to detailing the mythology of the Ulster Cycle and the techniques used by archaeologists to discover the fort, Navan Centre explores Celtic culture, rituals and beliefs of pre-Christian Ireland.

St. Patrick's Cathedral, Armagh City
The imposition Catholic St. Patrick's Cathedral Armagh City was built to replace the medieval cathedral, St. Patrick's Cathedral, which was then held by the Church of Ireland since the Reformation. The cathedral sits on a hill and dominates the landscape of the city like no other in Ireland. The interior is a fascinating example of architecture and decorative contrasts amazingly. This is a curious example of a building is important that changes both the architect and the architectural form of half way up the walls. The bottom half was designed in 1838 in the English Perpendicular Gothic style by Thomas Duff of Newry, the top half designed in 1853, decorated in French Gothic style by JJ McCarthy of Dublin.

Ceide Fields, County Mayo
Located near the northern coast in May, 10 kilomentres of Killala, golf is the monument Ceide Stone Age world's largest, consisting of field systems, dwelling areas and megalithic tombs of 5,000 years ago.
Ceide fields visitor center is an impressive heritage center and refers mainly to the archeology of this area and benefits from it are used to provide ongoing research concerning the location and mapping of these walls hidden by a developed particularly simple and completely non-destructive method of probing with iron rods, and the excavation of habitation sites and tombs is giving a unique picture of the lifestyle of our ancestors 200 generations ago.

Croagh Patrick, County Mayo
Croagh Patrick is where Saint Patrick is said to have driven the snakes from Ireland.
The panoramic views from the top on a clear day are breathtaking as you look down on Clew Bay is said that 365 islands.
Croagh Patrick) is a 764metres (2510 feet) mountain and an important pilgrimage site.
It is 8km from Westport, County Mayo above the villages of Murrisk and Lecanvey. On "Reek Sunday", the last Sunday of July each year, over 15,000 pilgrims climb the mountain.
The mountain forms the southern side of a valley created by a glacier flows into Clew Bay in the last Ice Age.

Newgrange, County Meath

Book of Kells

Hill of Tara

Trinity College

St. Patricks Cathedral

Christchurch Cathedral

Custom House, Dublin City

Dublin Castle, Dublin City

Monasterboice High Cross


Rock of Cashel

Ceide Fields

Design by Wordpress Theme | Bloggerized by Free Blogger Templates | free samples without surveys