Travel St. Michael Golden Domed Monastery in Ukrain

Golden-Domed Monastery of San Miguel is a functioning monastery in Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. The monastery is located on the right bank of the Dnieper River on the edge of a cliff northeast of the Cathedral of St. Sophia. The site is located in the historic and commercial administrative Uppertown historical views of the city and the commercial district, the district Podil.
Originally built in the Middle Ages by Sviatopolk Iziaslavych II, the monastery has the Cathedral itself, the refectory of St. John the Divine, built in 1713, the Economic Gates, constructed in 1760 and the bell tower of the monastery, which was added about 1716 to 1719. The exterior of the structure was rebuilt in the Ukrainian Baroque style in the 18th century while the interior remained in its original cathedral reflect the original style of Byzantium was demolished by Soviet authorities in early 1930 but was rebuilt and inaugurated in 1999 after independence in Ukraine.

Ages 11 to 19
Some experts believe that the prince Iziaslav Yaroslavych, whose Christian name was Demetrius, first built the monastery of St. Demetrius and Uppertown Church in Kiev near Saint Sophia Cathedral in the 1050S. Half a century later, his son, Iziaslavych Sviatopolk II is recorded as commissioning a monastery church (1108-1113) dedicated to their patron saint, the Archangel Michael. One reason for the construction of the church may have been the recent victory over Polovtsians Svyatopolk nomads, as Michael the archangel was considered a patron of warriors and their victories.


The mosaic of St. Demetrius was installed by Sviatopolk II in the cathedral monastery to glorify the patron saint of his father.
The monastery was considered a family cloister Svyatopolk family: it was there that Svyatopolk family members were buried. (This is in contrast to the Monastery Vydubychi sponsored by his rival, Vladimir Monomakh). The domes of the cathedral were probably the first Kievan Rus to be gilded, a practice that became regular, with the passage of time and for the monastery acquired the nickname "golden dome" or "gold-covered" depending on the translation.
During the Mongol invasion in 1240, the monastery is believed to have been seriously damaged. The Mongols damaged the cathedral and withdrew its golden domes. The cloister subsequently fell into disuse and no documentation of it for the next two centuries and a half. In 1496, the monastery had been revived and renamed the monastery of St. Demetrius of San Miguel, after the cathedral built by Sviatopolk II.After renovated and expanded numerous during the sixteenth century, gradually became one of the most popular and richest monasteries in Ukraine. In 1620, IOV Boretsky became the residence of the renewed Orthodox metropolitan of Kiev, and in 1633 he was appointed supervisor Isaya Kopynsky the monastery.
The monastery enjoyed the patronage of hetmans and other donors throughout the years. The main magnet for pilgrims were the relics of Santa Barbara, accused of having been brought to Kiev from Constantinople in 1108 by the wife of Sviatopolk II Iziaslavych and kept in a silver reliquary donated by Hetman Ivan Mazepa. Although most of the monastery grounds were secularized in the eighteenth century, up to 240 monks resided there in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The monastery served as the residence of the bishop of Chernigov after 1800. A cantor school is in the monastery grounds, and many prominent composers as Yakiv Yatsynevych Kyrylo Stetsenko and either studied or taught at school.
In 1870, some 100,000 pilgrims paid homage to Santa Barbara in the Monasterio de San Miguel. Before the Russian Revolution of 1917, the rings made and blessed the monastery of San Miguel, known as Santa Barbara's rings were very popular among citizens of Kiev. In general, serve as good luck charms and, according to popular belief, sometimes protected against witchcraft, but also effective against severe disease and sudden death. These beliefs reference the fact that the monastery was not affected by epidemics of plague in 1710 and 1770 and the cholera epidemics of the nineteenth century.

photo
photo

By Stuck in Customs

photo

photo

 
Design by Wordpress Theme | Bloggerized by Free Blogger Templates | free samples without surveys