Travel The Shwedagon Paya or Pagoda,Myanmar Temple Tourist Attractions

The Shwedagon Pagoda Shwedagon Zedi Daw official title, also known in English as the Great Pagoda of Dagon, and the Golden Pagoda, is a 98-meter golden pagoda and stupa located in Yangon, Burma. The pagoda is located west of Lake Kandawgyi in Singuttara Hill, thus dominating the skyline. It is the most sacred Buddhist pagoda in Burma with the relics of the past four Buddhas enshrined within, namely Kakusandha staff, the Koṇāgamana water filter, a piece of the robe of Kassapa and eight hairs of Gautama, the historical Buddha.
According to legend, the Shwedagon Pagoda is 2500 years old. Archaeologists believe the stupa was built between the ages 6 and 10 by the Sun, but this is a very controversial because, according to the records of the Buddhist monks was built before Buddha died in 486 BC. The legend of the Shwedagon Pagoda begins with two brothers, merchants, and Bhallika Taphussa of Ramanya land, meeting the Lord Gautama Buddha and receiving eight hairs of Buddha to be enshrined in Burma. The two brothers went to Burma and with the help of the king of the region, King Okkalapa, located Singuttara Hill, where relics of other Buddhas preceding Gautama Buddha had been enshrined. When the hairs were removed from their golden casket to be enshrined some incredible things happened:

"There was a tumult among the men and spirits ... rays emitted by the hair penetrated heaven and hell ... the blind saw the objects ... the deaf hear sounds ... the dumb spoke clearly .. . the earth quaked ... the winds of the ocean blew ... Mount Meru shook ... lightning ... rained stones until they were knee-deep ... all the trees of the Himalayas, but not in the season, gave flowers and fruits. "

The stupa was deteriorating until the 14th century, when King Mon Binny U of Bago had the stupa rebuilt to a height of 18 m. It was rebuilt several times and reached its current height of 98 m in the 18th century. The Mon kingdom possessed two pagodas of special sanctity, the Shwemawdaw in Bago and the Shwedagon. Originally only 27 meters high, rising to a height of 66 m in 1362 by King U Binny as a special act of piety. Dhammazedi immediate predecessor, his mother-in-law Queen Shinsawbu raised its height to 40 m. She terraces of the hill on which is opened the upper terrace with stone slabs, and slaves are assigned land and hereditary for maintenance. When in 1472 ceded the throne to Dhammazedi, he retired to Dagon, and during his last illness had placed the bed so she could rest her eyes and died on the gilded dome of the sacred fane. The face of catalogs Mon Shwe Dagon inscription a list of repairs from 1436 and finished during the reign of Dhammazedi. Queen is mentioned under a terrible name Shinsawbu Pali sixty-six letters. In the early 16th century the pagoda had become the most famous place of pilgrimage in Burma.
A series of earthquakes over the next centuries caused damage. The worst damage an earthquake of 1768 that brought down the top of the stupa and rose to its present state by the king of Hsinbyushin Konbaung dynasty. A new umbrella called HTI crown was donated by King Mindon Min in 1871 after the annexation of Lower Burma by the British.
A moderate earthquake in October 1970 became the backbone of HTI visibly out of alignment. A scaffolding is up and overhaul of the HTI were made.
The pagoda is in the World Heritage city of Yangon.





File:SDGYGN.JPGShwedagon Pagoda in BurmaphotoFile:2007 Myanmar protests 4.jpg
File:ShwedagonIMG 7642.JPG

 
Design by Wordpress Theme | Bloggerized by Free Blogger Templates | free samples without surveys